Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission

December 16, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The Regular meeting of the Benton County Solid Waste Disposal Commission was held Thursday December 16, 2021 at the Van Horne Community Center. Present was Brian McNulty, Blairstown, Jennifer Zahradnik, At Large, Eric Werner, Landfill Manager, Tracy Seeman, County, Doug Kearns, Garrison, Nancy Thorkildson, Shellsburg, Jared Vogeler, Van Horne, Nancy Jensen, County, Bill Voss, Walford, Jarrod Tomlinson, Atkins, John Kaestner, guest, Brian Bierschenk, guest, Damien Andrew, guest, Gary Bierschenk, guest, Mike Crow, guest, and Loras Schulte via zoom.

The meeting was called to order by Loras Schulte at 6:33 PM.

Motion made by Jensen, seconded by Thorkildson to approve the November 18, 2021 minutes. All Ayes.

Bids were opened for the Farmland lease. Motion made by Zahradnik, seconded by Kearns to accept the bid of \$240 per acre for a two year lease from Brian Bierschenk. All Ayes.

The Treasurer's Report was given. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Voss to accept the Treasurer's Report. All Ayes.

The Landfill Manager's Report included wind closings, equipment repairs, hauling water, upcoming DNR visit, litter cleanup and future cells. Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Voegeler to accept the Landfill Manager's Report. All Ayes.

The ECICOG report was distributed prior to the meeting. Motion made by Kearns, seconded by Jensen to accept the written ECICOG Report. All Ayes.

Motion made by Tomlinson, seconded by Vogeler to approve Resolution 2021-12-01 Approval of Expenditures. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Jensen to approve Resolution 2021-12-02 Approval of Transfer of Funds Between Savings/Checking. All Ayes.

Motion made by Thorkildson, seconded by Tomlinson to approve Resolution 2021-12-03 Approval of Transfer of Funds to Capital Accounts. All Ayes.

Motion made by Seeman, seconded by Vogeler to approve the FY22 Budget. All Ayes.

Motion made by Voss, seconded by Tomlinson to approve a credit application from Cooley Sanitation. All Ayes.

Motion to adjourn made by Zahradnik, seconded by Tomlinson. All Ayes. Meeting adjourned at 6:50 PM.

Chairperson		